E-governance, meaning ‘electronic governance’ is using information and communication technologies (ICTs) (such as Wide Area Networks, the Internet, and mobile computing) at various levels of the government and the public sector and beyond, for the purpose of enhancing governance. The application of ICT to transform the efficiency, effectiveness, transparency and accountability of exchange of information and transaction:

  1. between Governments,
  2. between Government agencies,
  3. between Government and Citizens, and
  4. between Government and businesses

Government Process Re-engineering using IT to simplify and make the government processes more efficient is critical for transformation to make the delivery of government services more effective across various government domains and therefore needs to be implemented by all Ministries/ Departments.


negpThe National e-Governance Plan (NeGP), takes a holistic view of e-Governance initiatives across the country, integrating them into a collective vision, a shared cause. Around this idea, a massive countrywide infrastructure reaching down to the remotest of villages is evolving, and large-scale digitization of records is taking place to enable easy, reliable access over the internet. The ultimate objective is to bring public services closer home to citizens, as articulated in the Vision Statement of NeGP.

“Make all Government services accessible to the common man in his locality, through common service delivery outlets,and ensure efficiency, transparency, and reliability of such services at affordable costs to realise the basic needs of the common man”

The Government approved the National e-Governance Plan (NeGP), comprising of 31 Mission Mode Projects (MMPs) and 8 components, on May 18, 2006.

Click the link to view the Official website for the National E-Governance Plan (NeGP)


Digital India

State Wide Area Network (SWAN): Under this Scheme, technical and financial assistance are being provided to the States/UTs for establishing SWANs to connect all State/UT Headquarters up to the Block level via District/ sub-Divisional Headquarters, in a vertical hierarchical structure with a minimum bandwidth capacity of 2 Mbps per link. Each of the State / UT can enhance the bandwidth up to 34 Mbps between SHQ and DHQ and upto 8 Mbps between DHQ and BHQ depending upon the utilization. Steps have been initiated to integrate all SWANs using the National Knowledge Network (NKN).

State Data Centre (SDC): State Data Centre would provide many functionalities and some of the key functionalities are Central Repository of the State, Secure Data Storage, Online Delivery of Services, Citizen Information/Services Portal, State Intranet Portal, Disaster Recovery, Remote Management and Service Integration etc. SDCs would also provide better operation & management control and minimize overall cost of Data Management, IT Resource Management, Deployment and other costs.

State Service Delivery Gateway (SSDG): State Service Delivery Gateway (SSDG), is one of the core infrastructure pillars of the NeGP which would establish Electronic Service Delivery in all 35 States / UTs. This project aims to enhance the services provided to the citizens through Common Service Centers (CSCs) by carrying out the Implementation of the State Portal, State Service Delivery Gateway (SSDG) & Electronic Form application. It is envisaged that the common infrastructure (SWAN, SDC & CSC) would be leveraged immediately by developing applications and infrastructure required for deployment of State Portals (SP) and State Service Delivery Gateway (SSDG) across the States/UTs. This will enable citizens to download forms and submit their applications electronically through a common gateway. This important initiative facilitating electronic Service Delivery will provide significant benefits to the citizens especially in the form of a single gateway to citizen for service delivery.

Common Service Centre (CSC): A highlight of the CSCs is that it will offer web-enabled e-governance services in rural areas, including application forms, certificates, and utility payments such as electricity, telephone and water bills.
The Scheme creates a conducive environment for the private sector and NGOs to play an active role in implementation of the CSC Scheme, thereby becoming a partner of the government in development of rural India. The PPP model of the CSC scheme envisages a 3-tier structure consisting of the CSC operator (called Village Level Entrepreneur or VLE); the Service Centre Agency (SCA), that will be responsible for a division of 500-1000 CSCs; and a State Designated Agency (SDA) identified by the State Government responsible for managing the implementation in the entire State.

CSC 2.0 Guidelines DOWNLOAD

E-District G.O. Ms. No. 1/DIT/2017 dt. 20-04-2017 DOWNLOAD